The Mount Sinai Hospital and Mount Sinai Queens are well- respected institutions, with outstanding nurses known for their excellence in patient care delivery. We are also recognized for our collaborative environment – where nurses can reach their maximum potential as clinical leaders, working alongside all members of the health care team who are second to none.

Our Mount Sinai Nurses have earned the prestigious Magnet honor from the American Nurses Credentialing Center for their unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence for three consecutive cycles. The latest, and current, re-designation was received in 2014, which follows the earlier 2009 and 2004 recognitions.

In addition, The Center for Nursing Research and Innovation (CNRI) is an important new center in the Icahn School of Medicine where nurses play an integral role in bringing their experience and insights into the process of research.

The Mount Sinai Hospital Nursing Practice 2018 Award Winners

Beth Degen, RN - Excellence in Nursing Practice, CSICU
Eve Easton, MSc, BSc, RN, OCN, CHPN - Excellence in Nursing Practice, Supportive Oncology
Patricia Gibbs, RN - Pat Liang Award, PACU
Tracey Kelly, BSN, RN - Excellence in Nursing Practice, Guggenhiem Pavilion 7 Center
Danielle Lajoux, BSN, RN - Excellence in Nursing Practice, Emergency Department
Christine O’Sullivan, RN - Magnet Nurse of the Year - Klingenstein Pavilion 5
Elka Riley-Roberts, MSN, FNP, RN - Nursing Leadership Award – NSICU
Lynette Joy Romanovitch, BSN, RN, CRRN - Excellence in Nursing Practice, Klingenstein Clinical Center 3 Elizabeth Tortu, RN - Rookie of the Year - Guggenhiem Pavilion 10 Center
Ishmael Cobbold - Honorary Nurse Award - PeriOpertive Services

Mount Sinai Queens Nursing Practice 2018 Award Winners

Hyacinth Ellis, MSN, BSN, RN - Mount Sinai Queens - Nursing Leadership
Tenzin Kunsang, BSN, RN - Nursing Excellence
Ivonne Torres, MSN, BSN, RN-CORN, Sterile Processing Director - Nursing Excellence 2018
Saya Lee, BSN, RN, Nursing Rookie Of Year - 2018


The DAISY Foundation Award was created in memory of J. Patrick Barnes as a way to honor skillful and compassionate nursing care. The Barnes Family established this recognition award program to “honor the super-human work nurses do for patients and families every day.”

Today the program is in over 1000 hospitals and recognizes nursing talent all over the world. The DAISY Award allows nurses to be recognized for their truly compassionate care. Nurses are nominated by patients, families and colleagues and each month one nurse is chosen who exemplifies the values of a DAISY Nurse.

2018 Winners

Tocha Alberts - Pediatrics 5
Jillian Delano - NICU
Diana Francis - RETU
Adrian Go - Guggenheim Pavilion 9 Center
Madeline Gondek-Brown - Emergency Department
Carol Rankin-McGowan - NSICU
Shakira Riley - Ruttenberg Cancer Center
Jean Torres - Guggenheim Pavilion 7 West
Jeremy West - Ruttenberg Cancer Center
Raul Dy, RN – 4 East, Mount Sinai Queens