Vegetarian diet

Lacto-ovovegetarian; Semi-vegetarian; Partial vegetarian; Vegan; Lacto-vegetarian

A vegetarian diet does not include any meat, poultry, or seafood. It is a meal plan made up of foods that come mostly from plants. These include:

  • Vegetables
  • Fruits
  • Whole grains
  • Legumes
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • May include eggs and/or milk if lacto-ovo vegetarian

A vegetarian diet contains no animal proteins (unless lacto-vegetarian or lacto-ovo vegetarian). A semi-vegetarian diet is a meal plan that contains little animal protein, but mostly plant-based foods. Vegetarians do not eat:

  • Fowl
  • Seafood
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Other animal meats, such as bison, or exotic meats like ostrich or alligator

Vegetarians also do not eat products containing gelatin or rennin (an enzyme found in calf's stomachs that is used to produce many cheeses).

Here are the different types of vegetarian diets:

  • Vegan: Includes only plant-based foods. No animal proteins or animal by-products such as eggs, milk, or honey.
  • Lacto-vegetarian: Includes plant foods plus some or all dairy products.
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarian: Includes plant foods, dairy products, and eggs.
  • Semi- or partial vegetarian: Includes plant foods and may include chicken or fish, dairy products, and eggs. It does not include red meat.
  • Pescatarian: Includes plant foods and seafood.


Food Sources