常见问题解答

去西奈山医院和医生办公室完成预约、手术或外科手术是否安全?
安全。在西奈山,我们的医生、护士和员工正在勤勉地工作,以确保每一位依靠我们提供护理的患者的健康和安全。在整个西奈山医疗系统,我们正在通过严格的方案来保护患者 - 包括持续消毒、保持社交距离和隔离 COVID-19 患者。

西奈山医院是否安排了非紧急手术?
从 2020 年 6 月 9 日开始,纽约州现在允许恢复由于 COVID-19 危机而停止的非紧急手术。现在西奈山医疗系统的所有医院、医生诊室和门诊手术中心都可以进行非紧急手术。来自整个医疗系统的团队正在努力确保安全的环境,以便患者有信心前来获得所需的治疗。

如何防止COVID-19患者感染?
为了照顾每个人的福祉,我们将COVID-19患者与其他患者隔离开来。如果您有COVID-19,我们将重新安排预约,直到您不再具有传染性的未来日期。如果您患有COVID-19并且需要立即就医,您会被引导远离其他患者。如果您没有COVID-19,您可以放心,当您在办公室遇到任何其他患者时,已经根据每个人的安全情况进行了筛查。

我的医生能否为我提供远程医疗
是的。我们将继续为患者提供 服务

如果我需要紧急就医该怎么办
请致电 1-800-MD-SINAI,呼叫中心会为您安排就医预约,或引导您前往急诊中心。

我去看医生时需要戴口罩吗? 候诊室有社交距离
是的,我们的新政策要求每个人都必须佩戴面罩。我们的任何医疗设施都允许您在公共场所涂抹任何适当的面部遮盖物。如果您没有合适的面部覆盖物,我们将会向您提供一份。我们将限制在候诊室等待预约的患者数量,甚至会安排家具,使社会疏远更加容易。我们的目标是让您立即进入房间,这样您就不必在候诊室等候。

我如何知道这些设施是干净的
我们在大流行之前对所有地区和经常接触的表面进行消毒,在大流行期间将继续这样做。

我能通过COVID-19检测吗?
能。如果您有符合 COVID-19 的症状,可以通过一项称为“COVID-19 PCR 检测”的检测来进行诊断。

有足够的测试
纽约州州长和纽约市市长正在非常努力地工作,以确保我们有足够的检测用品,以检测尽可能多的人患有COVID-19症状或接触过任何COVID-19症状的人。

我应该关注哪些COVID-19症状
症状可能会在接触病毒2-14天后出现。有以下症状或症状组合的人可能患有COVID-19:

  • 咳嗽
  • 呼吸急促或呼吸困难

或至少其中两种症状:

  • 发烧
  • 辣椒
  • 反复颤抖并畏寒
  • 肌肉疼痛
  • 头痛
  • 喉咙肿痛
  • 最近失去味觉或嗅觉

如果感染了 COVID-19,病毒在多久后才会从我体内清除,我需要待在家里多久
诊断出感染 COVID-19 的患者应待在家里,直到符合以下标准:

自身体恢复已有至少 3 天,“恢复”定义为在不使用退烧药的情况下发烧症状消失;以及

呼吸系统症状(例如咳嗽、气短)改善;以及

自症状最初出现已有至少 10 天。

这种方法将防止大多数(但不一定防止所有)二次扩散的实例。康复后传染的风险可能大大低于疾病期间。为了进一步降低风险,个人在其他人周围时应继续佩戴面罩。避免与弱势人员长期密切接触(例如免疫系统受损、潜在疾病、70岁或以上)。

免疫系统受损的人从COVID-19恢复后可能需要更长时间的隔离。

我可以在何时何地接受抗体检测
请与您的初级保健医生安排(回诊)以讨论选项。

如果我有抗体,我是否能预防再次感染
目前尚不清楚SARS CoV-2(导致COVID-19抗体的病毒)的存在是否会产生预防未来COVID-19感染的免疫力。SARS CoV-2 抗体检测呈阳性的人将来再次接触 SARS CoV-2 时是否会产生免疫,还需要研究。

您在恢复之后是否对病毒免疫
根据我们目前对身体对感染的反应的了解,我们推测特定病毒抗体的存在可能意味着你对病毒有一定的免疫力。但更多的研究需要研究者来确知。

我如何知道我的医生有正确的防护装备
西奈山医疗系统的专家已经为我们的提供者制定了应遵循的准则和指示,以保护自己不会感染COVID-19。我们为医护人员配备了充足的个人防护装备。您会发现每位医护人员都将佩戴外科口罩。

如何防止COVID-19患者感染?
我们将确定COVID-19患者,并将他们与其他患者隔离。我们甚至会重新安排他们的任命,直到他们不再具有传染性的未来日期。如果 COVID-19 患者需要就医,我们会指导他们远离其他患者。

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it safe to go to Mount Sinai hospitals and doctor’s offices for an appointment, procedure, or surgery?
Yes. At Mount Sinai, our doctors, nurses, and staff members are working diligently to ensure the health and safety of each patient who depends on us for care. Throughout our health system, we’re protecting our patients with rigorous protocols—including continuous disinfection, maintaining social distancing, and separation of COVID-19 patients.

Are elective surgeries being scheduled at Mount Sinai hospitals?
Yes, as of June 5, 2020, all Mount Sinai Health System hospitals have received approval from the state to resume elective surgeries, which were halted due to the COVID-19 crisis. This approval includes The Mount Sinai Hospital, Mount Sinai Beth Israel, Mount Sinai Brooklyn, Mount Sinai Morningside, Mount Sinai South Nassau, Mount Sinai Queens, Mount Sinai West, New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai, Mount Sinai Union Square, and The Blavatnik Family - Chelsea Medical Center at Mount Sinai. Teams from across the Health System are working to ensure a safe environment, so that patients can be confident in coming in to get the care they need.

How can I be kept safe from another patient with COVID-19?
To look out for everyone’s well-being, we are isolating COVID-19 patients from other patients. If you have COVID-19, we will reschedule appointments until a future date when you are no longer contagious. If you have COVID-19 and need to see a doctor right away, you’ll be directed away from other patients. If you do not have COVID-19, you can be assured that any other patients you may encounter while at the office have been screened for everyone’s safety.

Can my doctor treat me via telemedicine?
Yes. We will continue to provide the service to our patients.

What if I need to see my doctor urgently?
Please call 1-800-MD-SINAI and the call center will be able toschedule you an appointment to see your doctor or direct youto an urgent care center.

Do I need to wear a mask when I go to the doctor? Will there be social distancing in the waiting room?
Yes, our new policy will require that everyone needs to wear face coverings. Any appropriate face covering that you put on when being in public will be allowed in any of our medical facilities. If you do not have an appropriate face covering, onewill be provided to you. We will limit the number of patients waiting for their appointments in the waiting room and will even arrange the furniture to make social distancing easier. Our goal is to bring you into a room immediately so you do not have to wait in the waiting room.

How do I know the facilities are clean?
We have been disinfecting all areas and frequently touched surfaces before the pandemic and will continue to do so during the pandemic.

Can I get tested for COVID-19?
Yes. If you have symptoms consistent with COVID-19, you can get diagnosed through a test called the COVID-19 PCR test.

Are there enough tests?
The Governor of New York and the Mayor of New York City are working very hard to make sure we have enough testing supplies to test as many people as possible with symptoms ofCOVID-19 or who have been exposed to anyone with COVID-19.

What COVID-19 symptoms I should look out for?
Symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus. People with the following symptoms or combinations of symptoms may have COVID-19:

  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing

Or at least two of these symptoms:

  • Fever
  • Chills
  • Repeated shaking with chills
  • Muscle pain
  • Headache
  • Sore throat
  • New loss of taste or smell

If I’m sick with COVID-19, how long until the virus is out of my system, and how long do I have to stay home?
Patients diagnosed with COVID-19 should stay home until the following criteria are met:

  • At least 3 days (72 hours) have passed since recovery, defined as resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications; AND
  • Improvement in respiratory symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath); AND
  • At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared.

This approach will prevent most, but may not prevent all, instances of secondary spread. The risk of transmission after recovery is likely substantially less than that during illness. Tofurther reduce the risk, individuals should continue to wear face coverings when around other people. Avoid prolonged, close contact with vulnerable persons (e.g. compromised immune system, underlying illness, 70 years of age or older).

Persons with compromised immune systems may need to be isolated longer after they recover from COVID-19.

When and where can I get tested for antibodies?
Please schedule a video visit with your primary care doctor to discuss options.

If I have antibodies, am I protected against reinfection?
It is unclear whether the presence of SARS CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) antibodies will result in immunity to prevent future COVID-19 infections. Studies are still needed to determine if people who test positive for SARS CoV-2 antibodies are immune after they are exposed to SARS CoV-2 again in the future.

Are you immune to the virus after you have recovered?
Based on our current knowledge of how the body reacts to aninfection, we presume that the presence of antibodies against a particular virus could mean that you have some level of immunity to that virus. But more studies need to be conducted by researchers to know for sure.

How do I know my doctor has the right protective equipment?
Experts within the Mount Sinai Health System have developed guidelines and instructions for our providers to follow in order to protect themselves from contracting COVID-19. We have adequate personal protective equipment for our health care workers. You will notice that every health care worker will be wearing a surgical mask.

How can I be kept safe from another patient with COVID-19?
We will identify COVID-19 patients and isolate them from other patients. We will even reschedule their appointments until a future date when they are no longer contagious. And if patients with COVID-19 need to see a doctor, we are directing them away from other patients.