Environmental Health and Safety

Mount Sinai is committed to excellence in medical research, education, and patient care. Mount Sinai also recognizes the potential impacts of these activities on the environment, and the health and safety of patients, employees, students and the public. Mount Sinai values the people, land and natural resources that are part of the institution and the surrounding community, and continues to strive to manage programs in a manner that protects the global and local human and natural environments.

Mount Sinai is committed to maintaining compliance with applicable federal, state and local environmental statutes, regulations, and permits, and strives for continuous improvement in environmental performance.


Contact Us

Emergencies: 
Contact Security 24/7 at x60

General Inquiries: 
Phone: (212) 241-7233 (x4SAFE)
Email: AskEHS@mssm.edu

Waste Pickup Requests (chemical): Email: #EHSWaste@mountsinai.org

Sal Tranchina
Senior Director
Sal.tranchina@mssm.edu

(646)-605-7105

Mark Matthews
Director
Mark.matthews@mssm.edu
(212) 241-5909

Josef Ehntholt
Assistant Director
Josef.ehntholt@mssm.edu
(212) 241-5915

Maureen Parilla
Program Manager
Maureen.parilla@mssm.edu
(212) 241-6581

Occupational Safety and Health

Scott Cassady, HEM
Director
Scott.cassady@mssm.edu
(212) 241-5572

Hector Maldonaldo
Program Manager
Hector.maldonaldo@mssm.edu
(212) 241-4132

Biosafety
Phillip Hauck
Biosafety Officer
Phillip.hauck@mssm.edu
(212) 241-5169

Radiation Safety
Dr. Jacob Kamen
Senior Director
Jacob.kamen@mssm.edu
(212) 241-2269