For Physicians

Here at the Division of Liver Diseases at Mount Sinai Health System, we understand that referring providers wish to follow their patients' treatment plans and still be involved in their care as much as possible. As the referring provider, you have the most insight into the patients' medical history, and we highly value your input. Collaboration and communication with referring physicians in a timely and efficient manner is our top priority. These lines of communication keep the patient's plan of care flowing. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to write mail, e-mail, or call our office.

Referring a Patient

The process for referring patients is quite simple:

  • Have the patient call 212-241-7270 and specify their preferred location:
    • Chelsea: 275 7th Avenue, New York NY 10001
    • 5 E 98 street, New York NY 10029
  • Fill out the one-page Referring Provider Checklist, which can be found here, and fax to 212-241-4465
  • Provide your patient with his or her medical records to bring to the initial visit; of, if you prefer, you can fax these to 212-241-4465

If you wish to discuss a patient with one of the providers prior to the visit, you can call 212-241-7270 and leave a message for a return call, or send one of the providers an e-mail.


Ritu Agarwal, MD ritu.agarwal@mssm.edu
Meena Bansal, MD meena.bansal@mssm.edu
Douglas Dieterich, MD douglas.dieterich@mountsinai.org
Ponni Perumalswami, MD ponni.perumalswami@mountsinai.org
Donna J. Fanelli, DNP(c) donna.fanelli@mountsinai.org
Donald Gardenier, NP donald.gardenier@mountsinai.org
Michel Ng, NP michel.ng@mountsinai.org
Alyson Harty, RN alyson.harty@mountsinai.org

 


PrepC.org for Healthcare Providers

The Psychosocial Readiness Evaluation and Preparation for Hepatitis C Treatment (PREP-C) is a free interactive online tool that enables healthcare professionals to provide a thorough assessment of a patient’s psychosocial readiness to begin Hepatitis C treatment, and make a treatment plan to improve treatment readiness. Learn more